Welcome to The COVID Files.  The site presents a repository of published material designed to provide a lens for raising awareness about social inequalities created or exacerbated by the COVID-19 pandemic.  Our site offers a combination of current academic research, government reports, think pieces, webinars, news articles and other media sources collected from a variety of channels which is updated regularly.

This site is managed by the Stephen Lawrence Research Centre at De Montfort University, Leicester.  The Stephen Lawrence Research Centre is dedicated to facilitating dialogue, critical inquiry and information-sharing of hot topics that shape how we think about race, racism, inequalities and social justice.  Information within The COVID Files is relevant to the Stephen Lawrence Research Centre’s research target areas which include the histories and cultures of Black, Asian and minority ethnic communities in the UK; the concept and practice of institutional racism; denials of justice and the social psychology of racial violence.

We highly encourage and welcome contributions to the repository of relevant information or data including research papers, reports, guidance, newspaper articles, blogs, vlogs, and other information sources. If you have material you would like to submit for contribution, please send it to slrc@dmu.ac.uk.


Government Reports

Health and Social Care

Impact on Marginalised Communities


Work and Employment

We’re aiming to extend the reach of our work with The Exchange – a new webinar series that brings together a range of expert guest speakers in an inclusive space to exchange ideas, raise awareness and address issues and perspectives that are often underrepresented in the public arena and in academic research.

The Exchange: COVID-19 series addresses some of the issues that have been exacerbated by this pandemic from the Health and Social Care sector to the Education sector. For more information, and to watch the episodes of the COVID-19 series, click below.

The Exchange: COVID-19 series